Understanding the Chakras and the Gemstones Associated

Chakras have been mentioned in the Vedas, the most ancient scriptures. Also known as the energy centres in one’s body, they help in balancing one’s energy when active and aligned. Each Chakra corresponds to specific organs while it influences emotional, psychological, emotional, and spiritual aspects of life.

What are the different Chakras?

Derived from a Sanskrit word, which means “Wheel”, each chakra is positioned in your body and is said to be as an energy centre. These energy centres needs to be aligned and activated in order to have a positive and balanced energy flow in the body.

Following are the different kind of Chakras –

Root Chakra or the first chakra located is a house of confidence and wisdom. Root Chakra establishes a sense of security and stability. Red and Black gemstones can help you channel the first chakra energy.

Sacral or the second Chakra, located above the pubic bone and below the navel, it governs the survival instincts. Sacral Chakra is associated with colour Orange and element of water.

Solar Plexus is your source of individual power and ruling over self-esteem. Solar plexus or the third chakra is associated with the element fire and is mobilized when we assert ourselves in the world.

The Heart or the Central Chakra is located in the centre of your chest, and as the name imply it is all about love. Associated with colour Green and Pink and the element Air, fourth Chakra is said to bridge physical and spiritual aspirations. When your Heart chakra is aligned, love and compassion flows freely in terms of giving it back and getting it back.

Vishuddha or the Throat Chakra is located at the level of throat and is represented by the colour blue turquoise or aquamarine blue. Your throat chakra rules your communication, expression and has a natural connection with Second or the Sacral Chakra which is the centre of the emotions and creativity.

Third-Eye or the sixth chakra located between your eyebrows, it governs your intuition. Your third eye bridges the gap between you and the outside world. This chakra is related to the supreme element which is combination of all elements in the purest form.

Sahaswara Chakra in Sanskrit, the Crown Chakra is located at the crown of your head. It is the centre of alignment and spiritual connection and is associated with colour Violet. A link between you and higher consciousness, Crown Chakra is all about connection and spirituality.

What are the Chakra healing gemstones?

Each colour corresponds to a Chakra that helps in activating our energy centres. Each chakra is associated with a colour or two which helps in aligning the vibrations and frequency of your energy centres.

Here’s a list of gemstones associated with each Chakra:-

  • Root Chakra– Agate, black Tourmaline, Bloodstone, Hematite, and Tiger’s Eye
  • Sacral Chakra – Carnelian, Citrine, Coral, and Moonstone
  • Solar Plexus – Calcite, Citrine, Malachite, and Topaz
  • Heart Chakra – Green Calcite, Green Tourmaline, Jade, and Rose Quartz
  • Throat Chakra – Aquamarine, Lapis Lazuli, and Turquoise
  • Third-eye Chakra – Amethyst, Purple Fluorite, and Black Obsidian
  • Crown Chakra- Selenite, Clear Quartz, Amethyst, and Diamond

Pandit Pawan Kaushik is a famous gemstone expert in Delhi who is known for his gemstone knowledge. It is advisable to wear any gemstone after an expert consultation, for each gemstone has a strong association with your Chakras.