Navratri is one of the most widely celebrated festivals in India. It marks the victory of Goddess Durga over the buffalo demon Mahisasura. Goddess Durga is said to be the incarnation of Goddess Shakti who is the divine feminine creator of the cosmos. Navratri is the time when the holy cosmic mother is worshipped in her different forms. As far as the festivities are concerned, there are many traditions and customs to keep people excited and elated. One such exciting custom is of the Navratri colors. Each day of the Navratri has a unique color associated with it. These colors relate to the various forms of Shakti and are considered very auspicious and sacred.

Nine Colors of Navratri 2019

Pratipada or Day 1(September 29)
Dwitiya or Day 2 (September 30)
Tritiya or Day 3 (October 1)
Chaturthi or Day 4 (October 2)
Royal Blue
Panchami or Day 5 (October 3)
Shashti or Day 6 (October 4)
Saptami or Day 7 (October 5)
Ashtami or Day 8 (October 6)
Navami or Day 9 (October 7)
Peacock Green

What Do The Colors Signify?

Each one of the nine colours embodies the qualities of Goddess Shakti (Durga). They are a reminder that by inculcating these qualities, we can emerge victorious no matter how big the challenges and difficulties are.


The color for the first day of Navratri is Orange; the color of joy and creativity. Creativity and joy are part of the virtuous cycle which are self-reinforcing by nature. Wearing orange on the first day will bring joy to you and to everybody around you.


White is the colour of simplicity and perfection. Perfection is the absolute state, nothing can be added or removed from it. Simplicity allows us to pursue things that we need rather than things that we desire. Simplicity in thought and actions are the basis for a naturally harmonious life.


Red signifies passion, vigor, and action. It means channeling our passion and vigor towards achieving something which is fruitful.

Royal Blue:

The color of the 4th day is Royal blue which signifies peace. It also means being content with the fruits of our efforts and escaping the perils of materialistic desires.


The color for the 5th day of Navratri is yellow. It represents happiness and optimism. A positive attitude helps us to improve our productivity and achieve our personal and professional goals.


The 6th day of the Navratri 2019 is represented by the green color. It represents love and prosperity. Love is the glue that binds our relationships with others. With love and understanding, we can build stronger eternal relationships.


The 7th day is represented by the grey color. It is the color of balance and neutrality. It signifies the importance of maintaining grace and poise during not just favorable but testing times too.


The color for the 8th day of Navratri is Purple which represents ambition and power. On this day, Shakti is worshipped in her Siddhidatri form. This cosmic incarnation bestows knowledge and drives us to achieve our goals and aspirations.

Peacock Green:

The color of the 9th and the final day of Navratri 2019 is peacock green. Peacock signifies awakening and the color peacock green represents patience, kindness, and love. It reminds us that with patience and love, we can overcome all impediments and live a blissful life.

The Sharada Navaratri is one of the most-awaited and celebrated 9 days in the Hindu calendar. This period marks a time when we become one with the cosmic rhythm through fasting, wearing new clothes, visiting pandals, and sharing positivity and happiness with one and all.

Apart from the symbolism and imagery, Navratri is also a time to acknowledge and submit before the three Shaktis or Power i.e., Knowledge (Jnana Shakti), Will (ichcha Shakti) and Action (Kriya Shakti). It is an occasion to get rid of any impurities of the mind or soul. By impurity, we mean negative thoughts like greed, jealousy, envy, etc. that can turn us ignorant and unhappy.