Browse:
601 Views 2018-01-03 10:07:41

Sankashti Chaturthi 2018

As per Hindu calendar, each lunar month has two Chaturthi Tithis. The one that falls after full moon day (पूर्णिमा) during Krishna Paksha is known as Sankashti Chaturthi and the one that falls after new moon (अमावस्या) is known as Vinayaka Chaturthi.

Sankashti Chaturthi is observed on the fourth day (chaturthi tithi) of Krishna Paksha (the waning phase of moon) every month according to Hindu calendar. Celebrated in the honour of Lord Ganesha, the word ‘sankashti’ means ‘deliverance during difficult times’ whereas ‘chaturthi’ means ‘fourth day or the day of Lord Ganesha’.

During each month, Lord Ganesha is worshipped with a different name and peeta (seat). The story for each month is recited while worshipping Lord Ganesha on every Sankashti Chaturthi. Observing a fast on this day is believed to reduce all your problems in a life.

Here are all Chaturthi dates for the year 2018. This may vary by a day according to your location.

Date Day Chaturthi Name Moonrise Timings
5th January Friday Sankashti Chaturthi Sakat Chauth 21:35
3rd February Saturday Sankashti Chaturthi 21:16
5th March Monday Sankashti Chaturthi 21:50
3rd April Tuesday Angarki Chaturthi 21:26
3rd May Thursday Sankashti Chaturthi 21:55
2nd June Saturday Sankashti Chaturthi 22:15
1st July Sunday Sankashti Chaturthi 21:38
31st July Tuesday Angarki Chaturthi 21:32
30th August Thursday Sankashti Chaturthi Bahula Chaturthi 21:22
28th September Friday Sankashti Chaturthi 20:42
27th October Saturday Sankashti Chaturthi Karwa Chauth 20:10
26th November Monday Sankashti Chaturthi 20:51
25th December Tuesday Angarki Chaturthi 20:45

*Sankashti Chaturthi that falls on a Tuesday is considered highly auspicious.

For further guidance on inviting good health, prosperity and happiness to your lives, consult Pt. Pawan Kaushik at +91-9990176000

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*