Browse:
925 Views 2017-12-20 10:10:08

2018 Amavasya Dates

As per the Hindu calendar, Amavasya (अमावस्या) is observed on the new moon day or the no moon day.‘Ama’ means ‘together’ and ‘vasya’ means ‘to dwell’. The fortnight that begins with Amavasya is referred as Shukla Paksha. It is a significant day as many rituals are performed only on Amavasya Tithi.

The day of Amavasya is not auspicious as it is the day when evil spirits are stronger.If you believe in black magic, it is said that the effect of black magic gets stronger on the day of Amavasya. Thus, people worship the divine powers to stay protected from the evil, especially Goddess Kali and Lord Shiva since they are known to destroy the evil. People suffering from the ill-effects of Kalsarpa Dosha are advised by astrologers to perform Kalsarpa Dosha Puja on the day of Amavasya.

Amavasyas falling on Mondays are known as Somvati Amavasyas and Amavasyas falling on Saturdays are known as Shani Amavasyas. There are 12 Amavasya in a year. The names of these 12 Amavasyas are based on themonth of their arrival.

Date Day Amavasya
16th January Tuesday Magha Amavasya
15th February Thursday Phalguna Amavasya
17th March Saturday Chaitra Amavasya
16TH April Monday Vaishakha Amavasya
15th May Tuesday Jyeshtha Amavasya
13th June Wednesday Jyeshtha Amavasya
13th July Friday Ashadha Amavasya
11th August Saturday Shravana Amavasya
09th September Sunday Bhadrapada Amavasya
9th October Tuesday Ashwin Amavasya
07th November Wednesday Kartik Amavasya
07th December Friday Margashirsha Amavasya

Consult Pt. Pawan Kaushik to know how you can stay protected from the evil forces: www.pawankaushik.com | +91-9990176000

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*